Skip to content

G’DAY USA

February 1, 2014

This one time, I was planning a trip to the United States…

Naturally, with a trip to the States comes a trip to Sephora. Well, for a beauty-freak like me, anyway. And so the real planning began…

Whilst never actually visiting the makeup superstore before, I had been hearing about it for years, and had used their website as research for the latest and greatest beauty products making waves around the globe- of course, products that are widely unavailable in Australia.

I started my Sephora shopping list months in advance. Day after day I would trawl Sephora.com, adding items to my virtual ‘Shopping Cart’, excited by the fact I would be ‘Checking Out’ said cart in person. In the Sephora store. In America. Wooo!  The day before I left, I printed out my list.

It stretched over 4 pages (front and back), and consisted of lip balms, face creams, mascara after mascara, dry shampoos, nail polishes, nail stickers, nail files, fake tans, fake tan removers, perfumes, pencils, foundations, bronzers, blushes, brushes and about 200 other fabulous items. The ‘Shopping Cart Total’ was not important.

Upon arrival in America, I visited several Sephora boutiques (much to my non-makeup-obsessed friend’s dismay) and they were everything I thought they’d be and more. I could have spent all day perusing the aisles and sampling each product on the back of my hand. After day one, I had already blown the budget, and within two weeks, was forced to acquire a second suitcase to fit my 23 kilograms of cosmetic purchases. Told you. Makeup obsessed.

I thought I would share with you some of my favourite Sephora purchases:

ANASTASIA BROW WHIZ – approx. $20

Style: "P 30 Product - Ultra sharp"

This wind-up eyebrow pencil has changed my life. Well, my eyebrows at least. Its easy handling and soft crayon-like tip makes for superior application, allowing you to shape, define, and fill in your brows for a natural, polished look.

It has a magical formula that is super long-wearing, so it will take you from day to night without any smudging or smearing, and it mimics the brow hair, so it looks 100% natural when filling in small gaps, or completely reshaping the brows (who doesn’t want to look like Cara Delevingne?!)

GIORGIO ARMANI ACQUA DI GIOIA ROLLERBALL – approx. $20

s1438852-main-hero

I won’t go on and on about this one. All you need to know is:

– Delicious Armani smell

-Convenient rollerball size

-Only $20

-Loved it so much I purchased the 50ml bottle when I got home.

Want  to know more? Here’s what Giorgio has to say…

Off the coast of Italy, the island of Pantelleria is a place where the deep blue-green Mediterranean Sea meets the sun and earth, creating a sense of happiness, serenity, and optimism. This fresh, aquatic fragrance, whose name means, “water of joy,” captures the simple happiness one can experience at this extraordinary destination. 

SEPHORA COLLECTION AGE DEFY NIGHT MOISTURE CREAM – approx. $30

s1332428-main-hero

This is my mid-twenties stab at a wrinkle cream. I’m not quite at the stage where I’m willing to spend big bucks on looking younger, but I feel I should be doing something to stop the clock. This is my happy medium.

I have been applying this to my face and neck nightly for 3 months, and must say, my skin is looking somewhat firmer and brighter. The cream goes on silky smooth and keeps my skin hydrated while I sleep- and hopefully repairs some of the damage I’ve done during the day. I’m not sure if it has stopped any sort of clock, but I’m sleeping better at night knowing that I’m trying!

LANCOME HYPNOSE DRAMA MASCARA – approx. $27

s1197458-main-hero

Now this one you can get in Australia, but it’s a hell of a lot cheaper O/S.

As a mascara fiend, I have tried them all. And while this product has topped Beauty Ed best-seller lists for years, I had never tried it. Weird, I know.

After I purchased the mascara sampler box from Sephora (containing 20 mini mascaras), I knew I was in trouble. As a firm advocator for Maybelline Falsies, I knew there was a strong possibility this sampler box may lead me in a new lash direction. And it did.

The Lancome Hypnose Drama was the ultimate volumiser. No clumps, no smudges, just thick, luscious, long-lasting, bold, black lashes.

Sold and sold. Sorry Falsies.

FRESH SUGAR LIP TREATMENT SPF 15+ – approx. $22.50

s1190529-main-hero

I didn’t actually find out about this product until I came back to Australia. I was sent an email from Sephora on my birthday that said I could redeem a Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment Duo Gift Set as my bday present – Score!

Ummm… Sephora… Please tell me how can I redeem my gift when I live in Australia and you don’t ship here??

Hello friend who is on holiday in America! Can you please go into Sephora and redeem my birthday gift for me? Thanks!

Two weeks later and I got to try my two free gifts- and they were amazing! Best lip balms ever. I know I say that a lot, but this time I mean it. The duo set came with a clear balm and a peachy tint balm. Both are super hydrating, silky smooth and have a lovely scent that I can’t quite put my finger on, but it’s delicious! $22.50 is quite expensive for a lip balm, but I assure you, these ones are well worth the spend.

My Sephora recommendations could go on for days, so I will stop here… For now….

TBC.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

